The Running Of The Dogs

10,000 people, a snowstorm, 700 dogs, 66 sleds… the 40th edition of the “Last Great Race” has arrived!  When I moved to Alaska in 2011, I missed the start of the Iditarod by a mere 7 days, so I was glad to be here this time.  A few of us walked the 4 blocks to the ceremonial start to join the excitement.

Santa Claus decided to join in the festivities! This guy rocks an awesome beard. I could do without the fur though.

This guy rocks an awesome beard. I could do without the fur though.

..

Mad props to this guy for running the ceremonial start bare-legged in a kilt. No way I'd do that in 25 degree weather.

My Roaring Fork Valley friends will appreciate that I caught on video the start of Glenwood Springs local Willam Pinkham.

Quick video – less than a minute long.

After watching some of the teams leave, we walked back closer to our hotel to watch the action in a less crowded environment.  Even better!  Less people, and we could be mere inches from the mushers and their teams.

Since this is a ceremonial start, some of the mushers had fun with the crowd.

More Ecuador posts coming soon.

Enjoy these posts?  Subscribe!!!  Click the “sign me up” button on the top right.

