Sometimes I have pretty amazing days!

Occasionally I have to remind myself that my life can be pretty cool.  I live at Denali Park, Alaska.  I’m surrounded by mountains.  I live on the banks of the glacier-fed Nenana river.  I can tour Denali National Park on my weekends and see bears, caribou, moose, Dall Sheep, wolves, fox, and sometimes even a lynx.

Adding to the fun is the ability to do day tours with a lot of the companies in Denali Park.  Sometimes, like yesterday, I have double the pleasure, double the fun.

Yesterday morning started off right, getting on a Glacier Landing flightseeing tour with Fly Denali at 8:00am.  The flight, on a classic DeHaviland Turbo Beaver, is absolutely gorgeous.  We landed on the 3,500 feet thick Ruth Glacier.  I had hoped we would land on a different glacier, since the Ruth is the glacier we landed on last year as well, but conditions dictated the Ruth.  Not that I was complaining!

Here’s your 2 minute highlight reel.  Hope you like it!

Rafting last Friday on the Nenana river was such a blast that I had to do it again.  My company offers rafting, something I need to take advantage of more often.  The water right now is big – multiple solid Class 4 rapids, with plenty of class 3 thrown in.  Woo hoo!

Since I’m now the official keeper of the Denali Park Resorts Facebook page, I took out our helmet cam for the float.  Here’s some of the highlights.

Thanks for tuning in!

