A Riot! (Of Color!)

In the past 11 years I had driven through Grand Teton National Park on my way to and from Yellowstone multiple times, and I was always underwhelmed. Yes, the mountains are beautiful.  But other than that…. yawn.  Living in Colorado for 12 years, and being so in love with the hot springs and geysers of Yellowstone, and I just didn’t see the allure.

And then two weeks ago I moved here during the height of the fall colors.

White aspen trunks – check.  Orange, yellow, and red leaves – check.  Blue skies above incredible peaks – check.  You get the idea.

I haven’t explored much yet, but I’ve certainly enjoyed shooting what I can from a few of the roads.

Someday when I grow up as a photographer I’ll learn how to shoot fall foliage.  Finding the pretty colors is easy.  Learning how to recognize good composition in such a riot of information… not so much.

I haven’t often succeeded yet, but I keep trying.

The Tetons are without a doubt, impressive in nearly every respect.  So I enjoyed capturing them from 3 different viewpoints recently.

The road to Two Ocean Lake made for a marvelous run last weekend.

Driving to Jackson last weekend, a large herd of Pronghorn (what most people call antelope) made an appearance.

Pronghorn are fascinating animals.  The “horns” are neither true horns or antlers, being somewhere in between.  (it’s easier just to read about that here)  Depending on your perspective, they are either the fastest or the second fastest land mammal, with the ability to run approximately 60mph.  Cheetahs are faster, but cheetahs can only sprint short distances, while pronghorn can sustain that speed.  I saw a small herd run once years ago in Yellowstone, and it was definitely impressive!

I decided to call my mom while driving to Jackson, thinking I was done with photographs for the day. Naturally, 5 minutes into the conversation, I saw this colorful stand of trees. I spent the next 15 minutes trying to take pictures of these incredible aspens while also talking to my mom. I’m not sure I completely succeeded on either account. Shhh. Don’t tell my mom!

A few weeks ago I was lucky enough to be “Freshly Pressed” by WordPress.  This little blog, intended for a few friends and family, was suddenly viewed by over 1,000 people in one day (!) and now has about 250 subscribers.  To the new readers, welcome, and thanks.  I hope you enjoy the ride.

Hain’t it funny what life brings?

