The Mists Of Yellowstone

Yellowstone National Park may be the most magical place on the planet.  I obviously have a lot more of planet earth to explore, but I am drawn to this place like no other.  I am not ashamed to admit that I (literally) cry with happiness every time I’m there.

Which is why it’s been a treat to live near the park again this fall.  Although the south entrance park road is now closed for the winter, I thoroughly enjoyed the opportunities I had in the park in September and October.

Yellowstone is at it’s most magical in the mornings.  The cold mountain air interacting with the steam from the springs, geysers, and fumaroles is a visual delight.  Watching the mists and steam, it seems like a world where anything can happen.  Where dragons could exist. Where swords and sorcery are real.  Sometimes I find myself waiting for a character out of myth to appear.

While everyone seems to prefer still photos on blogs, the truth is, video is a much better way to experience it (besides, of course, being there).  Here’s a quick 1 minute video of some footage shot in September and October.  Hot water, steam, air, light and wind.   A lovely combination.

But it’s not just a feast for the eyes.  The sounds of Yellowstone are incredible as well.  The mud pots spit and gurgle, the fumaroles make you aware of the full power of steam, and some of the springs sound like sizzling bacon.  Sometimes I close my eyes and just listen to  what surrounds me.

My favorite mystical footage was shot in August 2009.  What a shame that I only had a standard definition video camera at that time.  What I would give to have the below video footage in HD!

The interactions of light, steam, and air can be even more spectacular in the winter.  But that is a post for another day.

Have you been to Yellowstone?  What do you think of it?  If you haven’t been there, why not?

