Denali in Monochrome

Lots of snow here in Denali.  Snow and cold.  Last winter brought more snow, but this year the snow has come later, and the cold just won’t leave.

I love snow.  In February.  I don’t love snow in late April.

I’ve made a few photography treks outdoors, deciding to stop complaining about the weather and take advantage of the beauty that’s out there.  With the exception of the Broad Pass panorama, all images were shot in the park or just outside the entrance.

These scenes lend themselves to B&W.  Enjoy.

Broad Pass panorama.  About 30 miles south of the park entrance, this open area on the Parks Highway always has outstanding views.

Broad Pass panorama. About 30 miles south of the park entrance, this open area on the Parks Highway always has outstanding views.

2013 Apr Denali 115

2013 Apr Denali 116
2013 Apr Denali 117

2013 Apr Denali 118

I’m not great at shadows on snow. I’m always in awe of people who do it well, but I’m not one of them.

2013 Apr Denali 119

When the light like this is I love Alaska. It has a quality I haven’t found anywhere else.

2013 Apr Denali 120

2013 Apr Denali 121

2013 Apr Denali 122

2013 Apr Denali 123

2013 Apr Denali 124

I suspect these are lynx tracks, because of the dragging tail.  Someone smarter may know better though.

I suspect these are lynx tracks, because of the dragging tail. Someone smarter may know better though.

I hope you enjoyed these “spring” images of my April-September home.  Leave me a comment with your own thoughts about the photos or Denali.  And feel free to click the “follow” button on the right.

